All On My Own: Learning From My Making Mistakes

Day 44

Monday August 1, 2011

We will be starting the AC, GC, and GT tests of the hybrid rice varieties with the Alk gene. This time, however, Lìjié will not be doing the experiment or watching over me; I am doing this all by myself. Since I observed all the methodology from the first time, I can do this by myself. I am extremely nervous and excited to complete the work.

As I started preparing the solutions, I made some mistakes, but I learned from all of them. For starters, I broke three of the glass flasks  while mixing the solutions, but I know now not to use as much force. These next few days will be interesting – I will learn a lot and gain the experience of a researcher.

Leave a Reply

