Heading to Zhangjiajie, Going into the Cave, and Watching A Show in the Mountains

Day 49

Saturday August 6, 2011

For my last trip exploring China, we traveled to Zhangjiajie National Forest Park, which is located 5 hours away, so we took a tour bus.

A few weeks ago, I was talking to Allison Zhao, a 2009 Borlaug-Ruan Intern, and I learned that her family is from a city near Changsha, so she is familiar with the area. She said that if I get to travel anywhere in Hunan province, I must see Zhangjiajie. She said it is the most beautiful place in all of Hunan province. So, I am extremely glad that we are in Zhangjiajie National Forest Park.

We will spend two days here, since there is so much to see. In fact, we won’t even get to see the entire park in the two days; apparently, it takes 4-5 days to see the whole park. Tomorrow, we will see one of the main attractions of the park – Tianmen Mountain. Today, we explored one of the largest caves I have ever seen, and traveled to small sanctuary within the mountains and watched a traditional Chinese play. Again, I believe that pictures can speak louder than words at times, so I will let my pictures tell the story this time.

Leave a Reply

